Portland Development Advice Fee: When the $566 Meeting Fits
Portland’s July 2026 schedule lists a $566 advice meeting; the $228 hourly line applies only when another fee is not specified.
Portland’s transportation-review fee schedule lists $566 for a development or design advice meeting, described as about one hour plus staff preparation and review. It also lists a $228 hourly rate when another fee is not specified. The $228 line is not a cheaper version of the $566 meeting unless Portland confirms that the reader’s question qualifies and receives the same preparation and follow-up. Read the July 10, 2026 fee schedule.
| Published line | Amount | Decision |
|---|---|---|
| Development/design advice meeting | $566 | Use for the defined meeting format and preparation/review scope |
| Hourly rate when another fee is not specified | $228/hour | Ask the city whether this fallback applies |
| Private designer or architect | Not listed | Obtain a separate professional quote |
The practical choice is eligibility and deliverable. A project with a right-of-way, access, or transportation-design question may fit the defined meeting. A narrow question that the city classifies under an unspecified service may use the hourly line. The schedule does not say that one hour at $228 includes the meeting’s preparation, plan review, written follow-up, or the same staff participants. Do not calculate a “saving” from the two numbers without that confirmation.
Send the city the property address, site plan, dimensions, project stage, and one clear decision question. Describe the alternatives you are weighing, such as whether a proposed wall or driveway affects the right-of-way. Ask which fee row applies, what staff will review, whether the meeting includes written comments, and whether permit or transportation-review charges are separate.
The Portland Permitting and Development department provides the process context for development services. Read Portland PPD when routing the request. The city fee is separate from survey, engineering, architect, permit, construction, and application costs.
The schedule was checked September 8, 2026 and is effective July 10, 2026. Keep the effective date with the worksheet and recheck before booking. The $566 figure is a defined meeting price; the $228 line remains a quote-eligibility question until Portland identifies the applicable service and scope in writing.
Related Articles
Portland Sidewalk Repair Permit Cost: Minimums, Caps, and Square Feet
Portland’s 2026 schedule charges $2.82 per square foot, with voluntary-repair minimum and maximum caps.
Portland Rain Drain Permit Fee: The $50 Public-Works Line
Portland’s July 2026 transportation schedule lists a $50 rain-drain permit line, separate from connection and repair work.
Portland Sewer Connection Permit Fees: BES and PBOT Charges
Portland’s guide lists a $352 BES sewer connection permit and $295 PBOT inspection for specified lateral work.
Portland Retaining Wall Right-of-Way Permit Fee: The $1,332 Line Item
Portland lists a $1,332 private right-of-way encroachment fee for a retaining wall; structural review may be separate.